- Myth No.1: YOU DO NOT NEED AN ATTORNEY—the insurance company will tell you that you do not need representation and that they will handle your claim in a fair and efficient manner, this is simply not true. Our firm will help you assemble a clear and convincing demand package to support your personal injury claim, and we know how to make the insurance company pay without a lawsuit and if it becomes necessary we know how to bring your case to trial. The bottom line is, the claim rep wants to keep you out of my office.
- Myth No. 2: YOU MUST GIVE A RECORDED STATEMENT REGARDING THE DETAILS OF YOUR ACCIDENT—you do not have to give a statement to the at fault drivers insurance company. Insurance reps are trained to obtain statements harmful to your claim.
- Myth No. 3: THERE IS NOT ENOUGH MONEY FOR YOUR CLAIM—both Georgia and Alabama require that every automobile operated on the highways of the states be insured with liability coverage. The minimum required coverage in Georgia is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident (for 2 or more claimants). Alabama mandates coverage of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Don’t let the claim rep tell you there is not enough money to go around.
- Myth No. 4: YOU HAVE TO SIGN A MEDICAL AUTHORIZATION SO THE CLAIM REP CAN OBTAIN ALL OF YOUR MEDICAL RECORDS, EVEN RECORDS NOT RELATED TO YOUR CLAIM. This is simply not true. We settle thousands of claims without ever providing any medical authorizations to the claims rep, and we show them only the medical records you say we can disclose. DON’T RELY ON THE CLAIM REP FOR LEGAL ADVICE.
- Myth No. 4: THERE IS ONLY ONE SOURCE OF PAYMENT FOR YOUR CLAIM—The insurance claim rep may tell you that there is only one policy for the vehicle involved in the crash but, for example, if the at-fault driver is married there may be additional coverage, and maybe a second liability insurance carrier and this coverage may “stack” giving additional and higher insurance coverage to pay for your damages. Likewise, other policies covering different vehicles in the same household may provide coverage for your injury.
- Myth No. 5: YOU CANNOT RECEIVE COMPENSATION IF YOU USE COVERAGE FROM YOUR OWN INSURANCE COMPANY—You may be able to receive compensation through your own insurance coverage as a portion of your medical payments coverage or uninsured motorist policies and this can often be combined with the available recovery from the at-fault driver's insurance.
- Myth No. 6: YOUR DAMAGES, EXPENSES & BILLS ARE NOT COVERED UNDER THE AT FAULT PARTY’S INSURANCE POLICY. The insurance claim rep may contend your “peculiar” damages are not covered under their policy of insurance, or the law does not allow you to recover your specific damages. Hire an attorney, and DON’T RELY ON THE CLAIM REP FOR LEGAL ADVICE.
- Myth No. 7: YOU MUST RESOLVE YOUR CLAIM & ACCEPT THEIR OFFER WITHIN DAYS. Often the insurance claim rep will rush you to settle, even before you have a chance to see a medical specialist you really know the seriousness or extent of your injury. Georgia and Alabama give the injured party 2 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit.
- Myth No. 8: YOU GET TO KEEP ALL OF THIS MONEY. Actually, if any of your medical expenses were paid by health insurance, you may not be entitled to keep all of the proceeds from your claim. Your health insurance will seek reimbursement. Ted Morgan Law can show you how to maximize your take-home and minimize the pay-back to your health insurance. The claim rep will never mention it.